Celebrate Free Comic Book Day and Star Wars with Your Library!!!

Sad news everyone.  The Library’s Geek Out event (May 2nd) has been canceled, Free Comic Book Day has been postponed, new comics aren’t being shipped.  And Star Wars day, May the 4th?  Well, I guess Star Wars day is OK, but you can’t celebrate it with everyone you’d probably like to.  Luckily, the Library’s got a way to get you through this.  We have lots of resources that allow you to celebrate the things you geek out about.  

Now is a great time to catch up on some comics and graphic novels you’ve been meaning to read and you can do that digitally through Hoopla on your computer or laptop, your tablet, or even your smartphone.  Hoopla has tons of graphic novels and comics from many different publishers including Marvel, DC, Image, Darkhorse, and Boom.  Follow the links below to check them out!

Hoopla comics

Did you know that Marvel made audiobook versions of graphic novels?  They are more like voice acted versions of the graphic novels with pretty awesome sound effects.  You can check those out here:

There are plenty of resources you can find through the Library to help you can celebrate Star Wars Day on Monday, May 4th.  Below is a list of Star Wars related material that you can find through our online library.

Hoopla

Overdrive / Libby

RBdigital Magazine

Kanopy

Did you know that several Star Wars languages were inspired from or just using different Earth languages?  Below are a couple of examples and how you could also learn those languages.  Maybe after learning a few languages you can create your own Star Wars universe language!!!

Mango Languages

  • Indonesian language inspired Kanjiklubber, a new language that appears in Star Wars, The Force Awakens
  • In The Phantom Menace’s pod-racing scene,  Anakin’s owner Watto and competitor Sebulba inexplicably speak back and forth in Finnish, saying “Kiitos!” (Thank you!) and “Ole hyvä!” (You’re welcome!)

Here is a short list of some websites that you can also use to celebrate Star Wars not only on May 4th, but throughout the year.

I hope this list gives you a way to celebrate comics and Star Wars this weekend and in the future. The Library is looking forward to celebrating these awesome days with you in the future, but for now, you can Geek Out on your own.

Keep on reading – and – May the Force Be With You

Kenny D.

[ngg src=”galleries” ids=”3″ display=”basic_slideshow” arrows=”1″ transition_speed=”100″]

Forever Young (05/11/2020): Dark Energy

Dark Energy (cover)

Dark Energy by Robinson Wells

We are not alone. They are here. And there’s no going back. Perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the I Am Number Four series, Dark Energy is a thrilling stand-alone science fiction adventure from Robison Wells, critically acclaimed author of Variant and Blackout. Five days ago, a massive UFO crashed in the Midwest. Since then, nothing-or no one-has come out. If it were up to Alice, she’d be watching the fallout on the news. But her dad is director of special projects at NASA, so she’s been forced to enroll in a boarding school not far from the crash site. Alice is right in the middle of the action, but even she isn’t sure what to expect when the aliens finally emerge. Only one thing is clear: everything has changed.


Next Meeting:
May 11th @ 6:30 PM at Virtual Library

Register for online meeting here

AVAILABLE FOR IMMEDIATE CHECKOUT ON HOOPLA
EBOOK

Great Books (08/21/2019): A Canticle for Leibowitz

A Canticle for Leibowitz (cover)

A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter Mill

In the depths of the Utah desert, long after the Flame Deluge has scoured the earth clean, a monk of the Order of Saint Leibowitz has made a miraculous discovery: holy relics from the life of the great saint himself, including the blessed blueprint, the sacred shopping list, and the hallowed shrine of the Fallout Shelter.

In a terrifying age of darkness and decay, these artifacts could be the keys to mankind’s salvation. But as the mystery at the core of this groundbreaking novel unfolds, it is the search itself—for meaning, for truth, for love—that offers hope for humanity’s rebirth from the ashes.


Next Meeting:
August 21st @ 7:00 PM at Harnish Library

Spinecrackers (08/02/2019): Ready Player One

Ready Player One (cover)

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

In the year 2045, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines, puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them. When Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win—and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.


Next Meeting:
August 2nd @ 10:00 AM at Harnish Library

AVAILABLE FOR IMMEDIATE CHECKOUT ON HOOPLA
E-BOOK